Establishment of the Energy Security Board

Publication date: Tuesday, 08th August 2017.

The Energy Security Board (ESB) was established by the COAG Energy Council (the Council) to coordinate the implementation of the reform blueprint produced by Australia's Chief Scientist, Dr Alan Finkel.
The ESB will also provide whole of system oversight for energy security and reliability to drive better outcomes for consumers. The establishment of the ESB was agreed at the Council meeting on 14 July 2017 and comprises an Independent Chair, Independent Deputy Chair and the heads of the Australian Energy Market Commission, Australian Energy Regulator and Australian Energy Market Operator.
The new board gives effect to recommendation 7.2 of the Finkel Review, demonstrating the Council's commitment to driving positive change through better governance.





Council Priority Issue